The Shipley Foundation

The Charles R. Shipley, Jr., Foundation, Inc. is a non-profit corporation founded in 1978 by Charles R. Shipley, Jr. and his wife Lucia H. Shipley of Auburndale, Massachusetts. The corporation was formerly known as the Shipley Institute of Medicine.

The Institute's first program of research was in pulmonary medicine, which work was followed, beginning in August, 1983, by research in microbiology. Previous Institute investigators have included the late Bernard N. Fields, then Adele Lehman Professor and Chairman of the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, R. John Collier, The Maude and Lillian Presley Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, and John J. Mekalanos, Adele Lehman Professor and Chairman of the Department of Microbiology and Immunobiology, all of Harvard Medical School.


The Bernard N. Fields Prize

In 1993, in recognition of the distinguished contributions to medical research and education of Bernard N. Fields, during his service as a Shipley Institute investigator, The Shipley Foundation, Inc. established the Bernard N. Fields Prize in Microbiology and Molecular Genetics . The Prize is awarded to that candidate within the Department of Microbiology and Immunobiology for the degree of Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Philosophy, or both, who, in the judgment of the Prize Committee, best exemplifies the virtues of intellectual creativity, collegiality, and compassion displayed by Bernard N. Fields as Professor and Chairman of the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics. Awardees are:

1993: Max L. Nibert, M.D., Ph.D.
1994: Alan Derman, Ph.D.
1995: Xiao Tong, Ph.D.
1996: J. Keith Joung, M.D., Ph.D. and Jill C. Milne, Ph.D.
1997: William Prinz, Ph.D.
1998: Ericka Lyszak Benson, Ph.D.
1999: Arne Rietsch, Ph.D.
2000: Lisa Schechter, Ph.D.
2001: Erik Zinser, Ph. D.
2002: Kenneth Bradley, Ph.D.
2003: Bryce Nickels, Ph.D.
2004: Laura Gougas, Ph.D.
2005: Brian Gregory, Ph.D.
2006: Zarine Balsara, M.D., Ph.D. and Nate Goehring, Ph. D.
2007: Aimee Shen, Ph.D.
2008: Melina Agosto, Ph.D. and Laura Burrack, Ph. D.
2009: Vincent Tam, Ph. D.
2010: Mary Rodgers, Ph. D.
2011: Rachel Dutton, Ph. D.
2012: Michael Alpert, Ph. D. and Philip Kranzusch, Ph. D.
2013:Megan Orzalli, Ph. D.
2014:Matthew Gardner, Ph. D.
2015:Kevin McCarthy, Ph. D.

Back to Shipley Symposium Main Page